Back to Top
Record High in Scholarships for EdUHK Students

Record High in Scholarships for EdUHK Students


The Education University of Hong Kong (EdUHK) held a reception today (3 May) to recognise students with outstanding performance in various areas and to express its gratitude to donors for their unfailing support during the past year. 

Scholarships are awarded annually to students with outstanding academic achievement, leadership or service records, active participation in experiential learning activities, or extraordinary talent displayed in the creative arts or sports. This year, about 800 scholarships worth over HK$24 million will be awarded – a record high for the University.

Officiating at the ceremony were Professor Frederick Ma Si-hang, Chairman of the EdUHK Council and the EdUHK Foundation, and Professor Stephen Cheung Yan-leung, EdUHK President. Over 300 friends and supporters of EdUHK, including leading figures from the business and education sectors, as well as staff and scholarship recipients, were in attendance.

Professor Ma said, “Teachers play a crucial role; they shape the lives of our future generations who hold the key to Hong Kong’s future. I take great pride in what our students have achieved, in both academic and non-academic domains. I have high hopes for their future as outstanding and caring educators and professionals.”

Professor Cheung congratulated the scholarship recipients on their extraordinary achievements, and thanked the donors for their continued generosity. “Your support, together with the concerted effort of our dedicated colleagues, has gone a long way towards driving the University forward on various fronts.” he said.  

The EdUHK Foundation is a high-level platform, established in December 2014, with the prime objective of engaging various sectors of the community to advance the quality of teacher education, learning and teaching, and research at the University.


For media enquiries, please contact Ms Sharon Ng of the Communications Office at 2948 6053 or 9197 7876.

Thanksgiving Reception cum Scholarship Presentation Ceremony

Professor Frederick Ma Si-hang, Chairman of the EdUHK Council and the EdUHK Foundation.

Professor Stephen Cheung Yan-leung, EdUHK President; and Miss Terena Wong, a Year 5 student of the Bachelor of Education (Honours) (Visual Arts) programme who has recently awarded the President’s Commendation – Arts & Culture under the President’s Commendation Scheme.

Vice President (Administration) Ms Sarah Wong Man-yee presents prizes to students.

< Back