跳至主要內容

語文研究榮譽文學士及英文教育榮譽學士 (同期結業雙學位)

  • 聯招編號/非聯招編號

  • JS8225/NJ8225S

 

課程主任

 

  • 修讀年期

  • 五年制
  • 上課模式

  • 全日制

 

  • 學士學位課程簡介

  • 下載

 

課程目的

 

本課程旨在培育畢業生成為中學或小學英文科教師或其他英語相關的專業人士,並擁有高水平的英文能力及具備協助學生有效地學習英文的能力。在學期間,學生將深入學習英文相關知識和教學原理,尤其專注於英文作為第二語言的教學知識。學生將於小學和中學進行教學實習及前往英語國家參與沉浸課程。

 

 

課程結構

 

合共156學分

75學分

主修

  • 主修研習
  • 主修跨學科課程
  • 跨學院核心科目*
  • 海外沉浸
9學分語文增潤
30學分教育研習20學分學校體驗
16學分通識教育6學分畢業專題研究
* 有待審批

 

 

 

學校體驗

 

  • 學校體驗基礎課程
  • 教學實習
    - 第一階段教學實習
    - 學校體驗學期
  • 學校體驗歷程檔案
    - 第一階段學校體驗及專業學習歷程檔案
    - 第二階段學校體驗及專業學習歷程檔案

 

沉浸課程

 

沉浸課程為必修課程,學生必須參與,並須取得及格成績,方可獲授予畢業資格。

學生須到以英語作為官方語言之一的國家(例如澳洲﹑紐西蘭或加拿大)的大學參加沉浸課程。此課程旨在結合英語能力訓練、學科研習、文化考察和學校體驗等項目,讓學生在文化豐富的環境中體會文學、文化的內涵,並提高英語口語能力,了解外地語文教育狀況和文化風俗。

 

其他國際體驗

 

就業前景

 

學生完成本課程後能夠兼具豐厚的學術及專業知識,就業前途良好。畢業生符合申請成為註冊教師的資格。他們亦可向教育局申請豁免英文科教師語文能力要求,於畢業後協助香港中學或小學生有效地學習英文作為其第二語言。 除任職專業教師外,畢業生還可以利用所擁有的學科知識和才智技能,在不同行業發展,例如政府部門、新聞機構、出版社等。

 

  • 課程影片

  • 課程講座重溫

 

 

就業數據

 

就業情況 (2021)

 

1
81%
獲聘
19%

進修或其他

受聘界別
1
100%

教育行業

 

 

查詢


課程查詢
 
電話:(852) 2948 7141
 
電郵: a5b082@eduhk.hk
 

 

入學查詢
電話: (852) 2948 6886
 
 
 

其他查詢

 

 

備註:

學校體驗、實習、海外交流和沉浸課程可能會受疫情影響。如境外活動暫停,將會另作適當安排。

 

免責聲明:

  • 我們盡力確保本網站信息正確無誤。課程信息或不時更改,而大學保留對本網站中所有信息進行修改的權利,恕不另行通知。因使用、誤用或依據此網頁的資訊而導致的損失或破壞,大學概不負責。
  • 大學保留一切修訂課程的權利,如有需要,可隨時酌情修改課程(包括但不限於課程內容和授課方式等)。因應教學人員、入學人數、實際具體安排、課程內容改動及其他無法預計的情況,大學有權變更課程。已繳學費,概不發還。
  • 香港教育大學是香港的教師培訓院校之一。教大的教育專業訓練課程畢業生符合申請成為註冊教師的資格。至於教師註冊申請事宜,由教育局教師註冊組辦理,畢業生應直接向有關當局遞交申請。所有申請會由教育局作出評估,當中會考慮申請人是否曾在香港或其他地方被裁定干犯刑事罪行(包括性罪行),或就其所知是否涉及任何在進行中的刑事訴訟或調查。詳情請瀏覽教育局網頁
  • 2023/24學年起入讀本課程的學生必須前往大灣區短期考察(如一日或兩日一夜行程),以完成一門跨學院核心科目。雖然有關的大灣區考察團將獲大學大部份的資助,學生仍須繳付考察團最佳估計開支的18%(「學生繳費部份」),然而,個人娛樂、飲食、簽證及個人保險之費用將不獲資助。受多種因素影響,如通貨膨脹、考察團所需時間、旅途開銷、匯率等,2023/24學年入學學生的大灣區考察團的估計團費未能確定,大學仍未能提供學生所需繳付費用的詳情。
  • 入讀「語文研究榮譽文學士及英文教育榮譽學士(同期結業雙學位)」課程的學生,必須參與沉浸活動,該活動是課程結構中的主要部分。當中涉及的開支大部分已由校方及其他機構資助,惟學生仍需繳付不少於18%沉浸活動所涉及的費用。實際須繳付之金額會因沉浸活動的開支及時期又或因通脹、機票費用或貨幣匯率等因素而有所調整。
  • 入讀本課程的學生在第一學年結束前,將獲分配中學或小學的教學訓練重點。大學將根據學生的教學訓練重點,安排教學實習,學生畢業後亦會因應該教學訓練重點申請香港認可教師資格。本課程旨在提供中學及小學學科教學的學術及專業訓練,成功完成課程的畢業生必須直接向教育局教師註冊小組提交申請,以作評估,能否註冊為認可合格中學或小學教師,須由教育局決定。

Skip to main content

Bachelor of Arts (Honours) in Language Studies and Bachelor of Education (Honours) (English Language) (Co-terminal Double Degree)

  • JUPAS/NON-JUPAS Code

  • JS8225/NJ8225S

 

Programme Leader

 

  • Study Period

  • 5-Year
  • Study Mode

  • Full Time

 

 

Programme Aims

 

This programme aims to prepare graduates to become competent teachers of English for primary/secondary schools, or other English language related professionals. Graduates will obtain a high level of English proficiency and an ability to help pupils learn English effectively. Students in the programme will study the English language system in depth, and the principles and theories of teaching and learning with special reference to the teaching and learning of English as a second/foreign language. Students in the programme will conduct teaching practices in primary and secondary schools, and join an immersion programme in an English-speaking country.

 

 

Programme Structure

 

Total 156 Credit Points (cps)

75cps

Major

  • Discipline Studies Major
  • Education Major
  • Major Interdisciplinary Course
  • Cross-faculty Core Course*
  • Overseas Immersion Programme (compulsory)
9cpsLanguage Enhancement
30cpsEducation Studies20cpsField Experience
16cpsGeneral Education6cpsFinal Year Project
*Subject to approval

 

 

 

Field Experience

 

Students will be placed in schools which are important sites for learning to teach and where they will interpret, generate, interact and experiment with theory. Teaching Practice will be conducted in schools which the medium of instruction may vary depending on the policy of the schools.

 

  • FE Foundation Course
  • FE and Professional Learning Portfolio I
  • FE and Professional Learning Portfolio II
  • Block Practice I
  • FE Semester

 

Immersion Programme

 

The Immersion Programme is a compulsory part of the programme and students must participate and meet the requirement of the programme successfully in order to graduate. In the programme, they will:

 

  • Live in an English-speaking country (e.g. Australia, New Zealand or Canada) and study at a university there;
  • Live with a local family;
  • Enhance their English language proficiency;
  • Learn more about the English language, English-speaking cultures, and other education systems and widen their horizons; and
  • Increase their general confidence and develop a wider worldview.

Other International Experience

 

Career Prospects

 

The programme is designed to provide students with the disciplinary and professional competency to teach in local primary /secondary schools. Majoring in English with in-depth academic and professional knowledge, graduates of the programme will have excellent career prospects. They will be ready to gain the following skills and qualifications:

 

  • Be eligible to apply to become fully qualified and registered teachers in Hong Kong
  • Be able to apply for an exemption from the Language Proficiency Assessment for Teachers – English (LPATE) with high level of English proficiency; and
  • Ability to help primary and secondary students learn English as a second language effectively.

In addition to the professional teaching career, as they will have been equipped with the necessary academic knowledge and intellectual skills, they can also embark on a wide variety of other careers, such as civil service, news organisations, publishing houses, etc.

 

  • Programme Admission Video

  • Webinar Video

 

 

Employment Highlights

 

Employment Status (2021)

 

1
81%
Employed
19%

Further Studies and Others

Employment Field
1
100%

Education

 

 

Enquiries


For Programme Information
 
Tel: (852) 2948 7141
 
 

 

For Admission Information
Tel: (852) 2948 6886
 
 
 

Other enquiries

 

 

Remarks:
Field Experience, internship, overseas trips and immersion may be affected by the pandemic situation. Appropriate alternative arrangements will be made if outbound activities are suspended. 

 

Disclaimer:

  • Every effort has been made to ensure that information contained in this website is correct. Changes to any aspects of the programmes may be made from time to time due to unforeseeable circumstances beyond our control and the University reserves the right to make amendments to any information contained in this website without prior notice. The University accepts no liability for any loss or damage arising from any use or misuse of or reliance on any information contained in this website.
  • Any aspect of the course and course offerings (including, without limitation, the content of the course and the manner in which the course is taught) may be subject to change at any time at the sole discretion of the University. Without limiting the right of the University to amend the course and its course offerings, it is envisaged that changes may be required due to factors such as staffing, enrolment levels, logistical arrangements, and curriculum changes, and other factors caused by unforeseeable circumstances. Tuition fees, once paid, are non-refundable.
  • EdUHK is one of the teacher education providers in Hong Kong. Graduates of the University’s teacher education programmes are eligible to apply to become fully qualified and registered teachers. As regards teacher registration, graduates should approach the Teacher Registration Team of the Education Bureau (EDB) to submit applications directly. All applications will be assessed by the EDB. which will consider, among other things, whether an applicant has been convicted of any criminal offence (including sex-related offences) in Hong Kong or elsewhere, or is involved in any ongoing criminal proceedings or investigations. For details, please browse the EDB's website.

  • Students admitted into this programme starting from the 2023/24 cohort are required to visit the Greater Bay Area (GBA) for a short trip (e.g. 1-day or 2-day 1-night trip) in order to complete the Cross-Faculty Core Course. While the GBA trip is heavily subsidised, students are still required to contribute 18% of the best estimated cost of the trip ("student contribution"), whereas personal entertainment, meals expenses, visa application fee and personal insurance costs will not be supported. The estimated cost of the GBA trip for students admitted to the 2023/24 cohort is not available yet as it is subject to a variety of factors such as changes to the cost of the GBA trip as a result of inflation, trip duration, traveling expenses, the exchange rate, etc. The exact amount of student contribution is thus not available.

  • Students admitted to the Bachelor of Arts (Honours) in Language Studies and Bachelor of Education (English Language) (Co-terminal Double Degree) programme are required to attend a compulsory Immersion Programme. While Immersion Programmes are heavily subsidised, students are still required to contribute no less than 18% of the best estimated cost of the Immersion Programmes ("student contribution").

  • Students admitted into this programme are normally assigned a focus of study (i.e. primary or secondary level) by the end of their first year of study. The focus of study will be reflected in the arrangements for their Field Experience and adopted for the purpose of application for Qualified Teacher Status in Hong Kong upon graduation. This programme is designed to provide students with the disciplinary and professional competency to teach in both primary and secondary schools. However, recognition of Qualified Teaching Status (QTS) in primary or secondary schools in Hong Kong is subject to the decision of the Education Bureau (EDB). Graduates of this programme are required to approach the Teacher Registration Section of the EDB to submit applications directly and all applications will be assessed by the EDB.