Skip to main content

Installation of EdUHK President and Honorary Doctorate Conferment Ceremony

The Education University of Hong Kong (EdUHK) today (10 November) held the Installation Ceremony of the 6th President Professor John Lee Chi-Kin and Honorary Doctorate Conferment Ceremony. Presided over by Council Chairman Dr David Wong Yau-kar, the ceremony was attended by Council members, senior management and over 600 distinguished guests.


Delivering the installation speech, Professor Lee expressed his heartfelt gratitude to the Council Chairman and Members for entrusting him with the monumental responsibility, stressing that he is committed to fulfilling his duties with passion and dedication. He thanked two former Council Chairmen, Dr Pang Yiu-kai and Professor Frederick Ma Si-hang, and two former Presidents, Professor Anthony Cheung Bing-leung and Professor Stephen Cheung Yan-leung, who have laid a solid foundation for the continued development of EdUHK.


Unveiling the new initiatives of the University, Professor Lee mentioned that two new Academies had been established and the National Security and Legal Education Research Centre would be set up, adding that EdUHK planned to gain a foothold in the Greater Bay Area under the national strategic development direction. In addition, EdUHK will strengthen education in teachers’ professional ethics, help students use technology effectively and ethically, and introduce a new component related to the new ‘Six Arts’ under the General Education domain to promote Chinese culture and values.


He said, “As a young and vibrant university with more than a century of educational heritage, EdUHK has been widely acclaimed for its excellence in educational research and innovation, while also making major strides in areas such as the humanities and social sciences. We will continue to work hard not only to transmit knowledge, but also to nurture growth, enlighten minds, build character and transform lives to contribute to Hong Kong, the country and beyond.”


On the same occasion, EdUHK conferred honorary doctorates on three distinguished individuals in recognition of their outstanding achievements in their respective fields and their contribution to education. They are (in alphabetical order by surname):


o    Professor Kawata Teiichi
o    Professor Stephen W. Raudenbush
o    Mr Carlson Tong Ka-shing, GBS, JP


Professor Lee said that the three honorary doctors had made distinguished achievements in their respective fields and enormous contributions to society, adding that they were role models deserving of profound admiration.


Installation Speech by Professor John Lee Chi-Kin
Address by the President
Citations for Honorary Doctorate recipients
Biographies of Honorary Doctorate recipients
Thank-you Address by Mr Carlson Tong Ka-shing


- Ends -