Home > About FLASS > Introduction

Dean's message
Prof Li Wai Keung

Dean of the Faculty of Liberal Arts and Social Sciences


Welcome to the Faculty of Liberal Arts and Social Sciences (FLASS) of The Education University of Hong Kong (EdUHK). Diversity is at the heart of FLASS, which is a big family of dedicated educators, committed researchers and diligent students. The Faculty, which comprises six academic departments, five research/resources centres, covers a wide range of subjects. These include science and environmental studies, social sciences, mathematics, information technology, policy studies, creative and performing arts, health and physical education. The diversity of our academic disciplines enables our students to have ample opportunities to expose themselves to a variety of perspectives and knowledge sets.
 
In postmodern society where diversity is becoming increasingly prominent, subjects/disciplines are intersecting with one another more and more, and those with a well-rounded personality and knowledgeable in a range of areas are in great demand. To meet the needs of our society and beyond, FLASS provides our students with a comprehensive education, equipping them with the necessary academic knowledge and skills for the teaching profession or other career opportunities.
 
As part of our mission, we at FLASS are devoted to nurturing our students to be caring leaders with a global vision. In the current big data era, knowledge will have to keep up with the pace of change. That is why another part of our mission is to conduct impactful research that will enhance the wellbeing of humankind and support our teaching needs. With the efforts of our dedicated staff and students, the Faculty will continue to do its best to serve our society and beyond by realising its mission.

Mission


  • Nurturing caring leaders with global vision
  • Conducting research to enhance human well-being
  • Fostering an interdisciplinary research and innovative teaching culture
  • Reaching out to promote social change
  • Engaging in international / regional collaborations for academic excellence

Vision


  • Teaching Excellence and Innovation
  • Research Advancement
  • Exchange Enhancement
  • Entrepreneurial Faculty

Strategic Development Areas

  • Diversifying Academic Programmes
  • Enriching Students’ Learning Experiences
  • Enhancing Research & Development
  • Promoting Internationalization and Regional Outreach
  • Engaging Actively with School and Community
  • Developing Caring Faculty for Student Learning
  • Assuring Academic Quality and International Benchmarking
Aspiring to be a leading university in the Asia Pacific region, focusing on Education and complementary disciplines, and recognised for our excellence in nurturing competent and caring professionals and the impact of our scholarship, the FLASS is currently experiencing rapid expansion in terms of academic and research programmes. Based upon our very strong research and academic links with regional and international institutions, the FLASS aims at expanding its undergraduate (UG) and postgraduate (PG) programmes by launching joint-degrees at both UG and PG levels with leading universities in Asia, Europe, Australia and the USA.

主頁 > 關於我們 > 簡介

李偉強教授

博文及社會科學學院院長


歡迎瀏覽香港教育大學博文及社會科學學院網頁。本院是一個多元化的大家庭,轄下的六個學系涵蓋科學和環境研究、社會科學、數學、資訊科技、政策研究、創意及表演藝術、健康與體育等。在我們身處的後現代社會,不同學科及專業的分界並不明顯,多樣性更是一個重要及不可或缺的元素;而全球化社會亦需要大量發展全面及具備各類知識基礎的公民。本院涵蓋不同的專業,提供多元化的學科以培育學生成為教育工作者或投身其他行業。因此,本院的使命之一是培育學生成為關懷社群及具備國際視野的社會棟樑。此外,在現今「大數據」時代,知識須緊隨時代變化;本院的另一個使命是推行有影響力的研究以提高人類福祉,並提升教學質素。在您們的支持下,本院將繼續努力實踐我們的使命和願景以回饋社會。

簡介

自香港教育大學(前身為香港教育學院)於一九九四年成立以來,博文及社會科學學院 不斷迅速發展,同時經歷了重大轉變,積累了豐富的跨學科學術及研究經驗。本院轄下共有六個學系及五個中心,其中三個中心為研究中心。

使命


  • 培育具愛心及國際視野的社會棟樑
  • 進行研究以改善人類在全球的生活質素
  • 促進跨學科研究及教學文化
  • 推動社會的變革發展
  • 參與國際性或區域性的協作交流以提升學術地位

願景


  • 卓越教學
  • 提升研究水平
  • 增值交流
  • 富企業家精神

策略性發展方向

  • 發展多元化的學術課程
  • 豐富學生的學習經驗
  • 加強學術研究及發展
  • 推廣國際性及區域性的發展
  • 積極與社區及學校保持緊密聯繫
  • 提供以學生為本的學習環境
  • 確保學術質素達至國際水平
博文及社會科學學院著重提供教育及其他相關學科,矢志成為亞太地區的學術先驅,以培育文行兼修、敬業愛生的教育工作者和提升教育素質的學術成就著稱。本院於學術及研究方面不斷發展,藉著與其他區域性及國際性院校的緊密聯繫,本院積極與亞洲、歐洲、澳洲及美國等地的著名院校開辦學士及以上程度的學位課程。