EdUHK Confers Honorary Fellowships on Four Distinguished Individuals

The Education University of Hong Kong (EdUHK) has named four distinguished individuals as Honorary Fellows in recognition of their remarkable contributions to the University, education and the community in both Hong Kong and beyond. They are (in alphabetical order of surname):

Mr Chan Hung Dr Anissa Chan Wong Lai-kuen, BBS, MH, JP Mr Fung Sun-kwan Dr Lam Tai-fai, SBS, JP

Dr Pang Yiu-kai, EdUHK Council Chairman, presided over the 2017 Honorary Fellowship Presentation Ceremony held at the Tai Po campus today (31 March).

Professor Stephen Cheung Yan-leung, EdUHK President, paid tribute to the first batch of Honorary Fellowship recipients since the University's inception last May. He said that "the Honorary Fellows have devoted themselves to education and have made tremendous contributions to the field through their inspirational endeavours in different capacities. They are truly role models given their dedication and commitment to nurturing young people for the betterment of society."

"As the unique education-focused university in Hong Kong, EdUHK is ready to take a leadership role in curriculum innovation and reform to ensure the long-term development of teacher education that meets the needs of the times," said Professor Cheung. He added that the University's commitment and strengths continue to receive global recognition, as evidenced by the latest Quacquarelli Symonds (QS) rankings, in which EdUHK was ranked 2nd in Asia and 13th in the world in Education.

The Honorary Fellowship Presentation Ceremony has been held since 2009 to salute outstanding members of the community who devote their energy and talent to their roles as school principals and teachers, and exemplary leaders in various professions, business sectors and industries.