HKIEd Names First Honorary Fellows

Four distinguished individuals became the first Honorary Fellows of the Hong Kong Institute of Education (HKIEd) today (26 March) at the institute's First Honorary Fellowship Presentation Ceremony. They are:-

- •Mr Chu Pu Sun (A Nong) Renowned writer of literature for children
- Mr Stephen Hui Chin Yim Adjunct Associate Professor of HKIEd School of Continuing Professional Education, Director of Education Services of the Hong Kong Council of the Church of China in Hong Kong
- •Mr Peter Lee Ting Chang Chairman of Hysan Development Co. Ltd.
- Mr Leo Lu Kwong Fai Chairman of Sir Robert Black College of Education Past Students Association

The Presentation Ceremony was presided over by the HKIEd Council's chairman, Dr Thomas K. Leung.

Addressing the Honorary Fellowship Presentation Ceremony, HKIEd's President, Professor Anthony B.L. Cheung, paid special tribute to the four Honorary Fellowship recipients.

He said, "The four Honorary Fellows display how educators can make a lasting impact on students, changing the lives of the many young people they meet, and make the world a better place for the next generation."

Professor Cheung said a glimpse of the historical development of teacher education in Hong Kong can be captured through the four Honorary Fellows. They began their involvement with education when most school teachers were trained at the Colleges of Education, the predecessors of HKIEd.

"Education in Hong Kong, and also HKIEd, have come a long way since then. The institute has today grown into a fully-fledged education institution, ready to further diversify within an 'Education-Plus' vision and to transform into a University of Education for Hong Kong and the Region," he added.

The prospect of such an "education-focussed, multidisciplinary institution with high research capacity" has most recently given clear endorsement by the University Grants Committee's Review Report released in February 2009.



The HKIEd held its 1st Honorary Fellowship Presentation Ceremony. (From left to right) Mr Chris Mong, Vice President (Administration) Mr Stephen Hui Chin Yim, MH Mr Peter Lee Ting Chang Council Chairman Dr Thomas Leung Professor Anthony B. L. Cheung, President Mr Chu Pu Sun (A Nong)

Mr Leo Lu Kwong Fai

Professor Lee Wing On, Vice President (Academic) and Deputy to the President Professor Cheng Yin Cheong, Vice President (Research and Development)