Centre News

Professor Cheng Yin Cheong, APCLC Senior Research Fellow,
awarded the title of Emeritus Professor (Education)

Professor Cheng Yin-cheong, Senior Research Fellow at The Joseph Lau Luen Hung Charitable Trust Asia Pacific Centre for Leadership and Change (APCLC), has been awarded the title of Emeritus Professor in recognition of his sustained, significant and commendable contributions to the Education University of Hong Kong.

Professor Cheng Yin Cheong
Emeritus Professor (Education)

Professor Cheng joined HKIEd in 1996 as Director of the Centre for Research and Development and Professor. He was appointed as Chair Professor of Leadership and Change in 2008. During his long tenure at HKIEd / EdUHK, he has served as Vice President (Research and Development) (2008 to 2012; 2013 to 2014) and Acting President (2012 to 2013). He was re-engaged as Research Chair Professor for 3 years upon reaching the retirement age in 2014. At present he is Advisor (Academic Development) of Department of Education Policy and Leadership and APCLC Senior Research Fellow.

He served as President of the World Educational Research Association from 2012 to 2014 and of the Asia-Pacific Educational Research Association (APERA) from 2004 to 2008. He has served as a member of the University Grants Committee, a panel member of Research Grants Council, and a member of the Quality Education Fund Steering Committee of the Hong Kong SAR Government. Currently, he is the Chairman of the Tin Ka Ping Foundation’s Advisory Council. Professor Cheng’s research interests include education reform, leadership development, paradigm shifts, teacher education, higher education, and school management.

Professor Cheng has published extensively and internationally with 24 academic books and over 250 book chapters and journal articles. He won a number of international awards and Awards for Excellence from the Literati Network in UK from 1995 to 2017. In 2008, he became a Fellow of the APERA in recognition of his contribution to educational research in the region.